World Language

About

The study of foreign language develops proficiencies, knowledge, and attitudes that cannot be acquired through the study of other subjects. Such proficiencies, knowledge and attitudes are essential to understanding the political motivations of other nations and are crucial to appreciating and accepting cultural and individual diversity within the United States.

To attain these proficiencies, knowledge, and attitudes, students should be encouraged to begin foreign language study early in their academic careers. Their foreign language education should continue throughout their entire educational career, with the district making every effort to provide each semester enough teachers credentialed in the target language to accommodate all of the students who enroll for study in that language.

Contact

Anna Soberanis Ι World Language Co-Department Chair
(805) 389-7366
Anna.Soberanis@oxnardunion.org

Adrienne Denny
(805) 389-6695
adrienne.denny@oxnardunion.org

Jesus Duran
(805) 389-4699
jesus.duran@oxnardunion.org

Francesca Gurney
(805) 436-8527
Francesca.Gurney@oxnardunion.org

Heidi Kuehn
(805) 389-4878
heidi.kuehn@oxnardunion.org

Pascual Campos Ι World Language Co-Department Chair
(805) 389-4366
Pascual.Campos@oxnardunion.org

Jochen Maier
(805) 384-4799
Jochen.Maier@oxnardunion.org

Elizabeth Ruiz
(805) 389-6951
elizabeth.ruiz@oxnardunion.org

Carol Simpson
Carol.Simpson@oxnardunion.org

Christina Stevenson
(805) 278-1555
christina.stevenson@oxnardunion.org

Irene Sy
(805) 389-6436
Irene.Sy@oxnardunion.org