About English

English is an integral part of the total curriculum, and every student must be given the opportunity to achieve a communication level necessary to succeed in education, work, and society.

The English Department Curriculum Framework provides a four-year program which affords students a wide spectrum of instruction. This instruction ranges from providing a non-English speaking student the instruction necessary to function in an English speaking environment to those skills necessary to succeed within a college or university environment. Instruction is further provided to students in preparation for required district and/or state tests.

The English core curriculum encompasses listening, speaking, reading, literature (including required CORE literature consisting of two selections from the traditional canon and one multicultural selection per year), spelling, vocabulary, study skills, usage, writing, and reasoning skills. Every student will also be given the opportunity to select courses that provide challenges beyond the requirements of the core curriculum.

The English Framework provides a variety of enrichment courses designed to improve and/or enhance a student’s knowledge and appreciation of the language and literature. An independent study course allows students and teachers to develop an English course that is not offered in the regular instructional program, while flexibility within the English scope and sequence allows students to enroll in courses that best suit their needs and abilities.

Faculty

Kevin BuddhuKevin Buddhu
805-389-4337
kevin.buddhu@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Bryn CareyBryn Carey
805-389-4367
bryn.carey@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

April D'Andrea
805-389-4602
april.dandrea@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Will FalconerWill Falconer
805-385-5783
will.falconer@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Kathy GlasmeierKathy Glasmeier
805-278-1152
kathy.glasmeier@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Christine LawlerChristine Lawler
805-389-5276
christine.lawler@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Lauri MarksonLauri Markson
805-394-4723
lauri.markson@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Lucy NakamotoLucy Nakamoto
805-389-5210
lucy.nakamoto@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Lori PristeraLori Pristera
805-389-6754
lori.pristera@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Heidi ResnikHeidi Resnik
805-389-6412
heidi.resnik@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Julie RiedmillerJulie Riedmiller
805-548-6322
julie.riedmiller@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Catherine RobeyCatherine Robey
805-389-6891
catherine.robey@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Mark StorerMark Storer
805-389-6974
mark.storer@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Richard WintersteinRichard Winterstein
805-389-4066
richard.winterstein@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Holly BeckmanHolly Beckman
805-389-4277
holly.beckman@ouhsd.k12.ca.us