About Special Education

We believe in the basic dignity of mankind and that all persons have worth and potential for learning. We believe that all students have an infinite capacity to learn, and that this capacity is best enhanced when students have a sense of importance and self-esteem. We believe that this potential for maximum learning is most effectively influenced on an individual basis, and that the more a person learns the more one develops the capacity to learn.

The school is obligated to all the young people in the community and, therefore, must be responsive to individual differences and provide programs to meet many different needs. It is, then, the function of the school to help students to reach their full potential as unique individuals, as responsible citizens, and as producers and consumers of goods and services based upon differing abilities and needs.

The function of Special Education is to ensure that all individuals with exceptional needs are provided a free appropriate education in conjunction with special services that may be required so that they may reach their full potential. Special students must be educated in an environment which provides maximum interaction with non-handicapped students. A fair assessment of each student’s learning needs must be the basis for placement in an Individual Educational Program designed to teach those basic skills and qualities of character necessary for a rewarding life in home and community.

Faculty

Jose AlbaJose Alba
805-389-6442
jose.alba@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Isara ArgentIsara Argent
805-389-6442
isara.argent@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Melvina BarnesMelvina Barnes
805-389-4265
melvina.barnes@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Blake BussonBlake Busson
805-394-4713
blake.busson@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Joanne ChangJoanne Chang
805-389-4376
joanne.chang@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

David DundoreDavid Dundore
805-389-4698
david.dundore@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Jeff FelderJeff Felder
805-484-6281
jeff.felder@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Mark FrankMark Frank
805-389-4838
mark.frank@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Adriana GomezAdriana Gomez
805-394-4756
adriana.gomez@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

JoAnne GuerriereJoAnne Guerriere
805-484-6373
joanne.guerriere@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Toni KlainToni Klain
805-389-5212
toni.klain@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Natalie LarkinNatalie Larkin
805-389-6487
natalie.larkin@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Corwyn LewisCorwyn Lewis
805-278-3011
corwyn.lewis@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Brian MurphyBrian Murphy
805-389-7367
brian.murphy@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Dennis RiedmillerDennis Riedmiller
805-389-6753
dennis.riedmiller@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Tiffany SahliTiffany Sahli
805-278-2995
tiffany.sahli@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Amy StreicherAmy Streicher
805-389-6975
amy.streicher@ouhsd.k12.ca.us