About World Language

The study of foreign language develops proficiencies, knowledge, and attitudes that cannot be acquired through the study of other subjects. Such proficiencies, knowledge and attitudes are essential to understanding the political motivations of other nations and are crucial to appreciating and accepting cultural and individual diversity within the United States.

To attain these proficiencies, knowledge, and attitudes, students should be encouraged to begin foreign language study early in their academic careers. Their foreign language education should continue throughout their entire educational career, with the district making every effort to provide each semester enough teachers credentialed in the target language to accommodate all of the students who enroll for study in that language.

If a student completes the first year of foreign language study in the district, the district should make every effort to offer at least the second year of that language. Also, students receive the best preparation if first and second year classes are separate, not combined with other levels.

Faculty

Pascual CamposPascual Campos
805-389-4366
pascual.campos@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Adrienne DennyAdrienne Denny
805-389-6695
adrienne.denny@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Jesus DuranJesus Duran
805-389-4699
jesus.duran@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Martha GarciaMartha Garcia
805-389-4845
martha.garcia@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Francesca GurneyFrancesca Gurney
805-436-8527
francesca.gurney@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Heidi KuehnHeidi Kuehn
805-389-4878
heidi.kuehn@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Elizabeth RuizElizabeth Ruiz
805-389-6951
elizabeth.ruiz@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Anna SoberanisAnna Soberanis
805-389-7366
anna.soberanis@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Irene SyIrene Sy
805-389-6436
irene.sy@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Sue ZeilerSue Zeiler
805-484-6226
sue.zeiler@ouhsd.k12.ca.us