• 805-389-6407
  • 4660 Mission Oaks Blvd, Camarillo, CA 93012
  • Mon - Th: 9:00 am – 2:00 pm, Closed Friday
EnglishSpanishChinese (Simplified)FilipinoVietnamese

Adolfo Camarillo High School

EST. 1956

English

About

The English Department provides a four-year program covering a wide spectrum of instruction, including the skills necessary for college and career readiness. Our courses provide a journey through reading selections from America, Britain, and around the world. Students develop language and writing skills that carry across the curriculum for success in all content areas. Our course offerings include college-preparatory English 1-4, Honors 1-3, AP Language and Composition, AP Language and Literature, , and literary elective courses.

The English/Language Arts curriculum encompasses complex, relevant texts and multiple genres, including novels, short stories, poetry, drama, and related non-fiction. Teachers work with students to develop critical thinking and communicative skills necessary for 21st-century learning, as well as encouraging creative expression. We endeavor, through experiences with classical and contemporary readings, to allow students to develop a lifelong passion for learning and reading for pleasure beyond their high school years.

courses

  • English 1, 2, 3, 4
  • English 1H, 2H
  • American Lit Honors (11th & 12th)
  • AP Language and Composition
  • AP Literature and Composition
  • Shakespeare/Composition
  • Myth, Metaphor, and Symbolism in Harry Potter
  • Mexican-American/Chicano Literature

Recommended Materials

Christine Lawler

Co-Department Chair
(805) 389-5276
christine.lawler@oxnardunion.org

Catherine Robey

Co-Department Chair
(805) 389-6891
catherine.robey@oxnardunion.org

Kevin Buddhu

Teacher
(805) 390-4337
kevin.buddhu@oxnardunion.org

Bryn Carey

Teacher
(805) 390-4367
bryn.carey@oxnardunion.org

April D'Andrea

Teacher
(805) 390-4602
april.dandrea@oxnardunion.org

Kathy Glasmeier

Teacher
(805) 278-1152
kathy.glasmeier@oxnardunion.org

Lauri Markson

Teacher
(805) 390-4367
lauri.markson@oxnardunion.org

Daryl Myers

Teacher
(805) 394-4066
daryl.myers@oxnardunion.org

Lesly Fernandez

Teacher
(805) 385-2755
lesly.fernandez@oxnardunion.org

Lori Pristera

Teacher
(805) 389-6754
lori.pristera@oxnardunion.org

Julie Riedmiller

Samantha Scardino

Mark Storer

Teacher
(805) 389-6974
mark.storer@oxnardunion.org

Sitting students are reading books.