• 805-389-6407
  • 4660 Mission Oaks Blvd, Camarillo, CA 93012
  • Mon - Fri: 7:30 am - 4:00 pm

English

The English Department provides a four-year program covering a wide spectrum of instruction, including the skills necessary for college and career readiness.   Our courses provide a journey through reading selections from America, Britain, and around the world. Students develop language and writing skills that carry across the curriculum for success in all content areas.  Our course offerings include college-preparatory English 1-4, Honors 1-2, AP Language and Composition, AP Language and Literature, college-prep and Honors courses through the Business and Technology Academy, and electives in Shakespeare, Composition, and Mexican-American/Chicano Literature.

The English/Language Arts curriculum encompasses complex, relevant texts and multiple genres, including novels, short stories, poetry, drama, and related non-fiction.   Teachers work with students to develop critical thinking and communicative skills necessary for 21st-century learning, as well as encouraging creative expression.  We endeavor, through experiences with classical and contemporary readings, to allow students to develop a lifelong passion for learning and reading for pleasure beyond their high school years.

Contacts

Christine Lawler Ι English Co-Department Chair
(805) 389-5276
christine.lawler@oxnardunion.org

Kevin Buddhu
(805) 390-4337
kevin.buddhu@oxnardunion.org

Bryn Carey
(805) 389-4367
bryn.carey@oxnardunion.org

April D’Andrea
(805) 389-4602
april.dandrea@oxnardunion.org

Kathy Glasmeier
(805) 278-1152
kathy.glasmeier@oxnardunion.org

Lauri Markson
(805) 394-4723
lauri.markson@oxnardunion.org

Daryl Myers
(805) 389-4066
daryl.myers@oxnardunion.org

Catherine Robey Ι English Co-Department Chair
(805) 389-6891
catherine.robey@oxnardunion.org

Lucy Nakamoto
(805) 389-5210
Lucy.Nakamoto@oxnardunion.org

Lori Pristera
(805) 389-6754
lori.pristera@oxnardunion.org
Website: https://canvas.instructure.com/

Julie Riedmiller
(805) 548-6322
julie.riedmiller@oxnardunion.org

Mark Storer
(805) 389-6974
mark.storer@oxnardunion.org

Lisette Williford
(805) 834-1384
Lisette.Williford@oxnardunion.org

Courses

  • English 1
  • English 2
  • English 3
  • English 4
  • English Honors
  • Composition
  • AP Composition and Literature
  • Mexican & Chicano Literature