• 805-389-6407
  • 4660 Mission Oaks Blvd, Camarillo, CA 93012
  • Mon - Th: 9:00 am – 2:00 pm, Closed Friday
EnglishSpanishChinese (Simplified)FilipinoVietnamese

Special Education

About

Provides necessary specially designed instruction and services as determined by the Individualized Education Program (IEP) for our special education students.It is the goal of the Special Education Department is to provide a quality, meaningful and relevant educational program for the students we serve.

Courses

Please see course descriptions at https://courses.oxnardunion.org/

 

College Prep

SDC

Co-Taught

ED

AUT

English 1-4

x

x

x

x

x

Math (Foundations of Alg, Common Core Math 1 A, Common Core Math 1B, Business & Personal Finance)

x

x

x

x

x

Biology

x

x

x

x

x

Earth Science

x

x

 

x

x

Environmental Science

x

    

Heath and Ethnic Studies

x

 

x

x

x

Directed Studies

x

x

 

x

 

Design

x

x

   

Work Experience

x

x

   

Social Skills

x

  

x

x

Career Exploration

x

  

x

 

Class Type Descriptions

Classes in the SDC, Co-taught, ED, and AUT programs are college prep. These courses follow the general education curriculum with scaffolding to meet each student’s needs.

These classes typically have a smaller class setting with one special education teacher.

These classes have one general education teacher and one special education teacher. Courses available for a Co-taught setting vary from year to year, based on need.

Students who qualify for special education services with an emotional disturbance are eligible for the ED program. The ED program is self-contained with a class setting that is significantly smaller than a general education setting. Students in the ED program will receive a diploma.

Students who qualify for special education services with autism spectrum disorder and recommendation by the district are eligible for the AUT program. The AUT program has a special education teacher in a self-contained class that is significantly smaller than the general education setting. This program includes students who can receive a diploma or a certificate of completion.

Students who qualify for special education with a primary or secondary disability of intellectual disabilities and recommendation by the district are eligible for this program. The SH program is self-contained with a special education teacher and is significantly smaller than the general education setting (Max of 12 students per SH class). Students in this program will receive a certificate of completion.

Allison Steltz

Co-Department Chair
(805) 834-1390
allison.steltz@oxnardunion.org

Nichole Vicuna

Co-Department Chair
(805) 278-3052
nichole.vicuna@oxnardunion.org

Scorpion logo.

Matthew Baerg

Teacher
(805) 385-5913
matthew.baerg@oxnardunion.org

Joanne Chang

Teacher
(805) 389-4376
joanne.chang@oxnardunion.org

Scorpion logo.

Beverly Chavez

Teacher
(805) 389-6444
beverly.chavez@oxnardunion.org

Scorpion logo.

Dave Dundore

Teacher
(805) 389-4698
david.dundore@oxnardunion.org

Scorpion logo.

Stephanie Fischer

Charles Gilbert

Teacher
(805) 834-1388
charles.gilbert@oxnardunion.org

Scorpion logo.

Michael Keddington

Scorpion logo.

Brian Murphy

Teacher
(805) 389-7367
brian.murphy@oxnardunion.org

Scorpion logo.

Joseph Randazzo

Teacher
(805) 484-6265
joseph.randazzo@oxnardunion.org

Scorpion logo.

Dennis Riedmiller

Ryan Riedmiller

Teacher
(805) 834-1389
ryan.riedmiller@oxnardunion.org

Tiffany Sahli

Teacher
(805) 278-2995
tiffany.sahli@oxnardunion.org

Amy Shepard

Teacher
(805) 389-6975
amy.shepard@oxnardunion.org

Scorpion logo.

Lindsey Steinman

Special needs, our specialty.